The Dunn Show

Welcome To The Dunn Show

11 Months February 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — familydunn @ 10:57 pm

Dear Cass,

Do you remember that movie Tremors?  The one with Reba McEntire?  About the big snake like creatures that burrowed under ground and ruptured to the surface from beneath to devour people?  I’m pretty sure this is your best impression of that.

img_4770_edited

It’s a pretty good impression if I do say so myself.

You are so lovely.

img_5016_edited

And so silly.

img_5003_edited

I’m trying to bottle up my sentimentality because I know in just one short month you will be a year old.  You will no longer be an infant.  You will be a toddler.  Just typing the words makes me misty eyed. 

img_4856_edited    

I’ve been working with you trying to teach you to hold up one finger when some asks you, “How old are you?”  Instead you hold up all 10 fingers and cackle at me and then cry for more oatmeal.  Because the only time I get to work with you on things like that is when you are in your high chair.  Only lately you’ve been crying every time I try to talk to you while you’re eating.  You’ve made it pretty clear that you don’t need to me to talk; you just need me to shovel it on in.  Boy, you really love your oatmeal.

img_4886_edited     img_4762_edited

Does oatmeal change your diapers?  Does oatmeal rock you to sleep?  Will oatmeal comfort you at 2am when you wake up in a panic?  Does oatmeal take you to see Gamma and does oatmeal let you play with Posey?

No.

But it does keep you regular. 

img_4771_edited

Here’s a picture of you and your BFF Posey.  Where I find one of you, I shall there find the other. 

img_5018_edited

A few questions I have for you:

How’d you get your arm out of your sweatshirt?

img_4889_edited     img_4891_edited

How did get such blonde hair and blue eyes?

img_4835_edited

What in the world do you think you’re smiling at?

img_4822_edited     img_4785_edited1

Why in the world are you crying?

img_4876_edited

And why won’t you grow hair on the sides of your head?

img_4964_edited

Baby, you are full of mischief and wonder.  Let me tell you a little secret.  You may look just like your Daddy, but dadblastit, if you don’t act just like me.  Girl.  We have a long road ahead of us.  You have become defiant and more than willing to suffer your punishment so that you can do what you want.  Cass.  Baby.  I get it.  I do.  But right now you don’t.  You think you want something that you really don’t want.  I know because I’ve been there.  I know what it’ll do to you.  I know that when you get what you want you’ll be burned.  You’ll cry in pain.  You’ll wish you’d never had it. 

img_4831_edited

So I’m telling you again, like I tell you everyday:  Stay away from the heater.  Do not touch the heater.

Don’t test me, Sweetheart.  I don’t want to discipline you.  But I will. 

img_4842_edited

Cause I’m your Mama and I love you.

 

4 Responses to “11 Months”

  1. Susy Says:

    I have wanted that quilt for my guest bedroom for years!!! I love it! And no…I don’t have a guest bedroom…never have…and it will probably be years before I do, but I have already decorated it in my head with that very quilt! It is so cute!! But of course…not as cute as that baby girl!!!

  2. emmie Says:

    I think that little girl is so beautiful. I just wanna love on her. And her little orange nose is cute as a button! Send us an invite Next month!

    • familydunn Says:

      Emily,
      Her nose doesn’t look that orange in real life. Something about the pictures really bring it out. She is cute though, isn’t she? I think it’s crazy how food can color our skin like that! I mean, I’ve been eating chocolate for YEARS and I’m still the color of copy paper…

  3. Mel Mel Says:

    I know you hear this all the time, but Cass is sooooo incredibly beautiful!!!


Leave a comment