The Dunn Show

Welcome To The Dunn Show

Sandwiches. Sammies. Samsters. Whatever. September 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — familydunn @ 1:12 pm

Scott has been grading papers for the last 5 hours, and let me tell you, I am BORED folks!  Don’t make me use my “caps lock” button now!  I like to keep my wild side on the quiet side, but boredom really brings out the fire in me.

My only salvation tonight has been football.  Which brings me to this.  Tom Brady: Down for the count?  If you are a New England fan, I’m sorry.  I’m also sorry that he has to feel pain.  That being said, GO COWBOYS!  GO COLTS!  GO GIANTS!

Since I was bored I decided that I would make a cooking blog about our dinner tonight.  Many nights I don’t feel like cooking, and tonight was one of those nights.  I love to cook, however, but I’m always trying to find ways to make fresh, healthy, satisfying food easy and accessible at any moment.  It takes some prep work when I have time, but slowly I’m figuring out how to live without having to rely on fast food for the quick fixes when I’m too tired to really cook.  Although, after a night of whiskey sours and beer there’s nothing better than a little Taco Bell. 

(Aside:  Scott just read me a snippet of a biography he had his students write.  Honestly, we should all strive to keep a little bit of 14-year-old in us.  It would do us good!  So funny!)

First of all, I keep an ice bucket in the fridge for sammie scraps. It looks empty here, because it pretty much is.  Contents usually include: several kinds of cheese, a couple cuts of deli meat, zucchini, cucumbers, green bell peppers, red onion, tomatoes, spinach leaves, and anything else that I have in the house that goes on sandwiches.

 

When I get home from the grocery (AMY) I immediately cut up the veggies, wrap them in paper towels, and put them in Ziploc bags.  I label the bags and line them in the ice tray along with cheeses and deli meats.  When I want to make a sammie, which is at least once a day while I’m packing Scott’s lunch, all I have to do is get a couple slices of bread, pull out the ice trey and I’m ready to go.

Step number one tonight is to cut up the zucchini and put it in the plastic bag. Turns out, I spelled zucchini wrong on the bag.  Forgive me.  My fridge doesn’t have a spell-checker.

      

I made myself some dill sauce that is inspired by a condiment, also called “dill sauce”, at one of my favorite deli’s in Fayetteville called Atlanta Bread Company – more commonly known as ABC.  That was our quick shop stop of choice for food before we moved to El Dorado.

It’s equal parts light or fat free mayo and light or fat free sour cream, enough lemon juice to barely thin the mixture and dill to taste.  It actually tastes a lot like what I used to get at ABC!

I then sliced open my favorites of all favorites and dedicated myself wholly and completely the task, for if I had to live on only one substance for the rest of my life and I could not pick a drug, I would pick the avocado.

It took me a few years to master (if you can call it that) my skillz (that’s right!) with the Ava, so I will gladly teach you, my imaginary audience, how to manhandle this glorious fruit.  When you are picking up Ava for a date at the grocery you’ll need to pop what’s left of the stem right on out of her.  Make sure the small cavity is green.  If it’s brown, the inside of Ava is most likely going to be brown, too, and that’s no good.  You’ll need to make sure she is firm, yet gently gives to your touch.  (Ok, the date analogy is kind of freaking me out now…)

This steps is not for the faint of heart, friends.  You have to hit the seed with a knife and then twist the seed out of the avocado.  When I learned to do this step watching The Food Network it was never expressed just how hard you have to hit the seed.  Still, totally worth it even if you have bad aim.

I save have of the avacado to add later to some salsa, so I scored it and then scooped it into a bowl.

    

The skin of Ava should look like this when you are done.

    

If the avocado is going to sit for a few, it’s best to cover it with lemon juice so it does not oxidize.  If it does get a little brown that’s ok, it’ll still taste ok if it hasn’t been out long. 

Now, if you want some delicious Ava on a Sammie you can just scoop the other half of Ava out whole and plop her right there on your chopping block.  Slice her up, and she’s good to go!

         

The next step here is to slice up some onion and tomato.  Normally I would just grab them from out of the baggies, but remember, my sammie bin was currently lacking.

This is a picture of my work station.  It’s a wooden island that my grandpa made, and it’s a life-saver.  I love it!

The next step was to get out the bread.  Heads up, folks.  I make our own bread a lot, just to save money. However, I had to make a quick run to WalMart this Saturday morning and they had this weeks bakery items on sale for 90 cents!  I bought three loaves of bakery made bread and just sliced up what I would need soon and put the rest in the freezer!  If you do that all the time it would save mucho dinero!

I took four small slices of bread (see how 4 slices easy fit on one dinner plate?) and drizzled EVOO and red wine vinegar on them.  You’d be amazed how much better this can make a sammie taste.  Just a tad goes a long way.  And ignore the ivy boarder.  I know it’s ugly, but I still have gotten around to painting the kitchen…or any other room.

    

Now for the fun part.  We layer.

Mustard.

Scott only wants mustard and I only want the dill sauce.

   

Scott doesn’t know what’s good so he doesn’t want any avocado either.

Tomatoes.

Onions.

Whole spinach leaves.

One of the staples in the my fridge is roasted chicken.  I keep it one hand one, because Scott eats it like candy.  He literally vegges out in front of the TV and eats handfuls of chicken.  Weird, I know.  Also, you can buy a lot of it for little money compared to other chicken and it’s not hard to do.  I broke off part of the chicken breast and sliced it up to put on the sandwiches.

Cheese.  I want Swiss.  Scott wants Pepper Jack.

Now it’s time to fold those sandwiches over.  It can be a little difficult because I really pile on the good stuff.  I usually just put my hand over one side, and then after I’ve turned it over on the other piece I slide my hand out from inbetween the two sides.

              

Another staple in our fridge, something we ALWAYS have on hand, is homemade salsa.  I keep it all the time because it’s healthy and delicious.  Plus, the recipe I use makes a ton of it.  Perfect if you need a quick snack.  Unfortunately, I usually have cookies on hand too.  Arg.  I add the salsa to the avocado, for a guacamole of sorts.

    

The lemon I used to to squirt on the avacado a while back I now throw into my water.  Yummy.

The finished product.  Hooray!

Time to eat!

And here’s a picture of my two little laughing goobers.

 

3 Responses to “Sandwiches. Sammies. Samsters. Whatever.”

  1. Susy Says:

    I LOVE IT! I love dill sauce…have never made it though…you have inspired me!

  2. familydunn Says:

    Why thank you Susy! It really is good. I had another sandwich for lunch today. It’s so hot here in El Dorado, I can’t stand to be by the oven or stove for very long!

  3. Oh….MY GOODNESS…What an unbelievable sandwich! I am so very hungry after looking at all those yummy pictures…..and you keep this ready in the fridge regularly??? What time should I show up!


Leave a Reply

