The Dunn Show

Welcome To The Dunn Show

Day One Hour Eleven September 2, 2008

Filed under: Family News,Pictures,Scott,Something New,Uncategorized — familydunn @ 10:33 pm

      Oh, Public Education.  How you are failing our children!  How you, Public Education, you of great potential, listened and adhered to such fouled prophecies of governmental proportions, not to mention the current trend of omitting competitive opportunities masked as “equality”.  How you’ve failed to care for the children in your care, been afraid to show a backbone, much less a heart, and then complained about “discipline” and how hard it is for you.  How you’ve bred cynicism into every crevice that would hold it!  Oh, Public Education.  My child will roam your halls one day…and you will me at PTA.  Prepare yourself Public Ed.  I am coming, ready or not.

That being said, MY HUSBAND IS A NEW TEACHER!!!   YAY!!!  And that is not sarcasm, folks!  That’s the sound of a “for real” celebration.  We couldn’t be any happier about it!  First you get the schedule:  The glorious schedule!  Scott and I have been married for a year and a half and we have never, I repeat, never had time off together from our jobs that was not filled with some daunting task such as interviewing for out-or-town jobs, finding a house, taking care of stolen credit cards and bank statements, or telling our parents we were having a baby after a whole month and a half of dating.  But just so you know, we did take a vacation together during that month and a half.  Props to that vaca for sending us little Cass!  Note to self and future children:  If you are not yet ready to be knocked up, don’t vaca with you’re unwed honey.  Life Lesson from me to you!

Honestly, I could go on and on about that.  I could write a whole 8 long posts about it, but I won’t.  In the words of Michael Scott it would be “TMI” and plus, you know, my mom reads this…

Not only is it a pretty righteous schedule, Scott is actually doing something he loves and you know what the best part is?  He’s doing something that matters!  Everyday he can make a difference in the life of some 14 or 15 year old.  The beautiful thing is that this is the reason he took the job.  To make a difference.  So that he could do something that would feed his soul. 

I’ve talked to many teachers that have said the exact opposite.  That school sucks the life out of them.  I’m sure it’s a terribly draining, exhausting job.  In the past few weeks I’ve seen Scott more tired than I’ve ever seen him before.  The physical demands are much more than most of the public assumes, but the mental demands are almost unfathomable for those who intend to influence their students.  It’s hard for a middle class white man in his early 30s to relate to a 14 year old black boy from a poor neighborhood.  Teachers have their work cut out for them, and I commend the ones who are brave enough to roll up their sleeves and get to work, share their hearts, make themselves vulnerable to the less fortunate, and show themselves genuine.  Kudos to you, Scott.  You are the hero in my book.  Fight your battles!  Fight the good fight!  I’ll be cheering you on from behind the scenes until Kindergarten 2013, when you’ll have to drag me by my hair kicking and screaming from the PTA meetings.  I love you!

Because I am doing this blog as a “baby book” of sorts, I want to include lots of pictures.  I don’t actually keep up with Cass’ baby book so I hope one day she can just look back at these posts and learn about how her mommy and daddy were when she was just a babe.

This is Scott leaving for his first day of school.  With his backpack and lunchbox.  I wish I had a kindergarten picture of him too.  I couldn’t rotate the one that’s sideways.  I’m not real techie!

   

This is Daddy in the car.  He’s on his way!

Mommy and Cass sitting on the porch waiting for Dad to get home.

    

Cass’ big toe is a riot in my family.  She’s always sticking it out just like this!

We see Scooter comin’ down the drive!

  

When he gets out of the car and sees me his glasses fog.  That’s cause I’m so freakin’ hot!  Yeah!

 

One Response to “Day One Hour Eleven”

  1. Leah Lowe Says:

    Hey! Aggghhhh! Your baby girl is so precious! How old is she now? She has such a happy face! I love it! Yeah, I think we are about to get this Prevacid thing down…I think I get half of it on her chin and neck rather than in her mouth and down the hatch! So your husband is a teacher! Jeremy is too! How fabulous! Jeremy loves it and is like Mr. I’m Gonna Bring the Revolution to Public Education Man! He’s very enthusiastic! I really hope both our guys stay that way! They need them in the schools! It sounds like things are going well for you! I really hope they are and I am so happy for you and your precious family! Oh yeah, and the hair thing…who knows what havoc motherhood is going to reap…I was going 5 sometimes 6 days before a baby! YIKES!


Leave a Reply

