The Dunn Show

Welcome To The Dunn Show

1 Corinthians 2:9 April 22, 2008

Filed under: The God Delusion — familydunn @ 5:32 am

Late at night, as it is now, I often sit and wonder about what life will be like.  I am more prone to this habit now than I ever have been, although I’ve been known as a daydreamer my whole life and can remember doing this as early as 5 or 6.  I wonder more and more about Cassidy and who she will be.  I am asking God to, even now, prepare her a heart that will love Him more than anyone or anything else in the world.  Scott and I struggle so much to be the people that we want to be.  We have the best of intentions, but really, who cares about intentions?  I certainly don’t! 

The thing is, and maybe I’m the only one, but I have a feeling down deep in my gut that says that life is more than what we know it to be now.  It’s bigger.  It’s better, even.  I want to know what the “abundant” part of “abundant life” is.  I want to know what Jesus meant when He said that we can have it.  I want it!  And I believe that we can have it.  (I believe that you can have it, too.  God is not partial.  And if He’d be willing to get involved with me, you can bet He’d be willing to do the same for you.  You wouldn’t believe the things about me if I told you myself!)

My heart races at the thought that maybe I’m missing something.  That getting to know this God, the One and Only, the Christ, could unleash something so powerful that it could overtake me, my house, my family…I want that.  I’m not just talking about being weird, because heaven knows I’m already there, and I’m not talking about being judgemental, because regrettably I’ve been there too.  I am talking about something so great that I can’t even imagine it for myself.  I feel a prick in my heart.  It burns in my soul. 

What is it? 

There’s something brewing on the edge of what I know.  It’s just across the line I’ve never crossed.  It marks the place I’ve never been but always longed to go.  And from this place God calls, “Come!  I’ve prepared a banquet!”

I’m hungry.  I think I’ll go!

This life is meant to be lived, Friends.  Love is meant to be felt.  Don’t cut yourself short of the good stuff! 

 

Leave a Reply

