The Dunn Show

Welcome To The Dunn Show

Nursing, Diets, and Baby Weight April 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — familydunn @ 3:04 am

So the doctor decided that it would be best if Cass temporarily be put on a predigested formula that is specially made for babies who cannot digest cow’s milk proteins.  I was really bummed because I was very determined to strictly breastfeed until she was old enough to start eating.  I was not reluctant to allow the treatment, although, because of course I want her to get better.  Depriving Cass of the breast ensued a temper tantrum the size of Texas, but Scott soon told me to pull myself together!  I knew that nursing was the only way Cass knew to comfort herself, but I didn’t know until recently how much it comforted me.  It was special Mommy/Baby Bonding time.  And now it’s gone…

Now she’ll gladly take a bottle (ewww) filled with formula (ewwww) from Daddy (ewwww – kidding) or Nana or the UPS delivery guy for all she cares, just as long as she can eat.  One thing I can say for the girl is that she, at only 6 weeks old, has totally figured out that eating is a recreational activity, and should not only be done, but overdone.  And I must say, I am a proud proud Mama!

Lest you think I am willing to teach my child to be a glutton I must say this:  I am going on a gluten-free, casein-free diet so that I can hopefully nurse (if only the medical kind) her back to health.  That means no milk or flour of most any kind.  I’m not sure yet what I can eat, but I’m sure it’ll be lovely.  I just love the taste of flax seeds and beets.  Yum!  On the bright side, it’ll help me loose the baby weight.  The Lord Jesus knows there’s certianly enough of that to lose.  I was very confused when the nice people at the hospital sent me home with only one baby.  I was sure I was going to give birth to a third grader or enough infants to make the equivalent of one.  I mean, just look at this!

Impressive, no?  Well now that’s you’ve taken a look at that I got to tell you, that is THREE WEEKS before I actually gave birth to the should-have-been elementary school sized baby.  There were times when I would have sworn she was not the size of a student.  Oh no.  I would have meant she’s the size of the school.  A full building, this kid.  But she was delivered into the world at only 9 pounds and 4 ounces.  Not to shabby, but not nearly the Schwarzenegger-esque being I’d imagined.  Too bad I can no longer say the same thing for myself…

I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  God says so.  And there’s no way the world’s idea of beautiful can top that!

 

Leave a Reply

